3 Steps to Avoid a Revoked or Suspended License
Nearly three decades ago, a Rock Hill man settled a charge of driving while intoxicated out of court in Mecklenburg County. Fast forward 29 years, and he received a letter that his driving privileges in South Carolina were revoked. According to documents, he never paid a reinstatement fee surrounding the DWI charge and will have to pay $100 to get back his license.
There are several incidents that can lead to a suspended driver’s license in North Carolina. Should you be found guilty of driving under the influence, speeding, reckless driving or simply accumulating too many points on your license, the NC Department of Motor Vehicles has the right to revoke your license. There are several things you can do to avoid the problem.
1. Understand the Laws
Depending on what the charge is, the length of suspension will vary. For example, failing to pay child support could result in a suspended driver’s license until the bill is paid. Speeding and reckless driving, according to the DMV, could mean losing your license for 60 days.
A revoked license could mean losing driving privileges for a longer period of time, such as:
- One year for a first DWI offense
- One year for two instances of driving recklessly in 12 months
- Three years for intentionally racing another vehicle
- Permanent loss for three DWI offenses
Knowing what the potential consequences are for any driving offense is a key part encouraging safety on the roads and avoiding heavy-handed consequences.
2. Be Aware of Your Points
In North Carolina, there are points assigned to your license every time you receive a traffic citation. If you accumulate 12 points or more over the course of three years, the DMV will suspend your license. Additionally, if your license has been suspended, you may only accumulate eight points over the next three years.
The good news is that once you have seven points, you can attend a driving improvement clinic to wipe three of the points off your license. However, you can only attend one clinic over the course of five years.
3. Hire an Attorney
If you are facing a traffic violation, it is a good idea to hire an attorney to dispute the claim. An attorney well-versed in North Carolina’s laws can help dismiss or reduce charges to help you keep your driving privileges, which are typically an essential part of earning a living and taking care of a family.
At Nosal & Jeter, LLP we are proud to have a former Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department officer on our staff. We have years of experience helping people avoid revoked and suspended licenses. Contact us so we can get started on your case today.