Driving Under Suspension (DUS)
Elements of DUS in South Carolina: In order to convict you of Driving Under Suspension, the government must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the you (1) drove a motor vehicle on a public highway in the State of South Carolina, (2) during the time your’s driver’s license was cancelled, suspended, or revoked, and (3) that you were notified by the Department of Public Safety that your driver’s license has been cancelled, suspended, or revoked.
S. C. Code Ann. § 56-1-460 makes it unlawful for any person to drive a motor vehicle on any public highway of this State when his license to drive is cancelled, suspended, or revoked.
Call Now For a Free Consultation on your DUS Citation: (803) 351-3597
Driving Under Suspension Defense Attorney
There is a significant difference in how these cases are handled depending on if your license was suspended for conviction for an alcohol related offense (ie. DUI or DUAC) or suspended for some other reason (i.e. failing to pay an out-of-state traffic ticket). No matter what the reason for your suspended license, the penalties become more severe with each subsequent offense. For example, a conviction for a first offense carries a sentence of a fine of $300.00 and incarceration for up to thirty (30) days; a conviction for a second offense carries a sentence of a fine of $600.00 and incarceration for up to sixty (60) days; and a conviction for a third offense carries a sentence of a fine of $1,000.00 and incarceration for up to ninety (90) days.
With such steep penalties, driving under suspension ticket in South Carolina should not be taken lightly, and your first step to beating the charge is hiring an experienced SC traffic attorney who nderstands DUS convictions and how to fight for your right to drive. In addition to fighting your current DUS charge, we are often able to assist our clients in clearing the underlying conviction that caused their license suspension, to solve the problem and get you legally back on the road.
Driving Under Suspension Ticket
If you were charged with Driving Under Suspension anywhere in South Carolina, contact our experienced traffic law attorneys to fight your case! Email your ticket information to firstname.lastname@example.org for a free consultation on your DUS citation.