Ohio is a member of the Driver’s License Compact, getting an out-of-state speeding ticket or other moving violation gets reported back to Ohio, resulting in points added to your Ohio Driver’s License. This may result in the suspension of your Ohio Driver’s License! It is therefore crucial you explore all options, including fighting your ticket and not pleading guilty by paying the fine. An experienced South Carolina traffic ticket lawyer can contest your ticket, in most cases, without you having to personally appear in Court.
South Carolina Lawyer serving Ohio Drivers
South Carolina beaches are popular vacation spots for Ohio motorists. Don’t let a Myrtle Beach speeding ticket ruin your family vacation!
In Ohio, a speeding violation may result in four points, two points or no points depending on the speed limit in effect and the number of miles per hour by which the speed limit was exceeded.
- Exceeding the speed limit by 30 mph or more results in four (4) points added to your Ohio Driver’s License.
- If the speed limit is 55 mph or more and you exceed the limit by more than 10 but less than 30 mph, you will get two (2) points.
- If the speed limit is less than 55 mph, exceeding the limit by more than 5 but less than 30 mph results in two (2) points.
- Exceeding any speed limit in an amount less than stated above will result in no (0) points.
An Ohio driver who accumulates six (6) points in a two-year period will receive a letter from the Registrar of Motor Vehicles warning that the law provides penalties for drivers accumulating twelve (12) or more points in a two-year period. For example, one penalty will mean suspension of driving privileges for six months. Taking a driving course approved by the Ohio Department of Public Safety may be required. Fees may likely arise. Proof of financial responsibility must be filed with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles and maintained for three to five years. Finally, a driver may have to complete a driver’s exam.
Six point violations in Ohio include: racing, operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drug abuse, and failing to stop and disclose identity at the scene of a collision.
In Ohio, operating a motor vehicle while your license is under suspension is a first-degree misdemeanor! If convicted, you may see yourself paying a fine of up to $1,000 and may be sentenced to an additional one-year driver license suspension! Save your Ohio Driver’s License (and your insurance premiums) from harsher penalties. Avoid the hassle of having to deal with the Ohio Department of Public Safety or the Bureau of Motor Vehicles! Contact an experienced South Carolina traffic ticket attorney help you with your South Carolina traffic ticket or moving violation.
For a free consultation call our office at: (803) 351-3597 or Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org
Pay Now Online Debit/Credit Card
Peter J. Nosal, Esq.
Thomas C. Jeter III, Esq.
SOUTH CAROLINA OFFICENosal & Jeter, LLP 852 Gold Hill Rd Ste 201
Fort Mill, SC 29708