TN Drivers with SC Ticket

South Carolina Office Location

Nosal & Jeter, LLP

852 Gold Hill Rd., Ste 201

Fort Mill, SC 29708

Tennessee Drivers with SC Ticket

Tennessee is not a member of the Driver License Compact (DLC), an agreement signed by 45 states plus the District of Columbia. DLC member states agree to report out-of-state convictions to each other, which encourages interstate travel. In addition, when a member state suspends the license of an out-of-state driver, that driver’s home state is encouraged to do the same. The Tennessee Department of Motor Vehicles states that they generally notify an out-of-state driver’s home state, even though they are not required to, and are generally notified if their own drivers received violations in other states as well. If you receive a South Carolina traffic ticket or other moving violation, this could potentially mean the following for your Tennessee license:

Speeding 1-5 mph over the speed limit= 1 point

Speeding 6-15 mph over the speed limit= 3 points

Speeding 16-25 mph over the speed limit= 4 points

Speeding 26-35 mph over the speed limit= 5 points

Speeding 36-45 mph over the speed limit= 6 points

Speeding 46 mph and above in excess of the speed limit= 8 points

Operating without driver license in possession= 2 points

Reckless Driving= 6 points

If you receive 12 points or more in a period of twelve (12) months, you’ll receive a proposed suspension notice, which means the Department of Safety is proposing to suspend your Tennessee driver’s license.  Because an out-of-state ticket may have negative effects on your Tennessee Driver’s License, you should not just pay the fine listed on your ticket. Doing this will result in you pleading guilty to the charge listed on your ticket, and points may accrue on your license. Because you plead guilty, your conviction will result in an increase in your insurance premium, and your rate will likely increase per month depending upon your insurance company. Reach out to an experienced South Carolina traffic ticket attorney before you pay the fine.

Tennessee may choose to share traffic violation information with a DLC state, but there is no guarantee that they will. An out-of-state driver with several violations in Tennessee may possibly have their driving privileges suspended in the state of Tennessee only, but be able to drive anywhere else in the United States. Speak with a South Carolina ticket lawyer about how your South Carolina traffic ticket may affect your driving record in Tennessee or insurance premiums.

For a free consultation on your ticket

Learn the facts before paying your ticket!

Our Attorneys

Peter J. Nosal, Esq.

Phone: (803) 351-3597

Email: [email protected]

Fax: (803) 403-9515

Thomas C. Jeter III, Esq.