What it Means to Drive Without a License
When drivers think about operating a vehicle without a license, they picture a scenario where they drive without having their license on them. However, in South Carolina, there are three situations that can occur that constitute as “driving without a license.”
The first situation where drivers can be fined for operating a vehicle without a license occurs when they have a driver’s license, but it is not in their possession. For example, a driver may be fined for this offense if he or she left home without first grabbing his or her wallet. In some situations, drivers who hold a valid license, but are fined for driving without it may be able to have this traffic infraction dismissed. However, in many cases, the fine must still be paid.
Drivers can also be fined for driving without a license if they have never been legally licensed to drive in the state or if their license expired. According to the South Carolina Legislature, it is illegal for anyone in the state to operate a vehicle unless they hold a valid license. When drivers are fined for operating a vehicle without holding a current license, the fine is usually less than $200.
The final scenario where drivers can be fined for operating a vehicle without a license occurs when they drive while holding a license that was suspended, revoked or cancelled. How much the fine is for this offense depends on how many times this infraction has already been committed. For example, those who commit this offense for the first time may have to pay a fine of up to $300 and spend up to 30 days in jail. However, if the suspension is related to a DUI offense, drivers who are fined for operating a vehicle without a license for the first time may face between 10 and 30 days in jail.
Fighting a Ticket for Driving Without a License
Drivers who wish to fight a “driving without a license charge” must be able to prove that they did in fact possess a valid driver’s license at the time of the offense. If drivers are unable to prove this, they may have a difficult time having the charges against them dismissed. In situations like this, drivers may benefit from working with an attorney, especially if they have to represent themselves in a court of law. Drivers in South Carolina who were recently charged for driving without a license can contact the legal professionals at the office of Nosal & Jeter, LLP for help. Call us today at (803) 351-3597 for a free consultation on your ticket.