Understanding South Carolina’s Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (ADSAP)
The compulsory Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program was created to help those convicted of DUI offenses and those whose licenses were suspended under Administrative License Revocation to reduce their chances of reoffending. ADSAP is designed to decrease the injury, death and destruction that result from crashes involving drugs and alcohol by helping offenders to identify and address the factors that contributed to their actions. ADSAP could take up to a year to complete and may cost up to a maximum of $2,500, with $500 going to educational services. Fees for treatment services may vary.
ADSAP is operated throughout the state and is mandatory for the following people:
- Those who refuse to submit to urine, breath or blood tests to confirm the presence of drugs or alcohol
- Anyone whose blood alcohol concentration level was found to have been above .15 while operating a vehicle
- Drivers under 21 years of age whose licenses were suspended under the “zero tolerance” rules
- People convicted of driving with BAC levels of .08 or higher or driving under the influence
Failing to enroll in a certified ADSAP program could have significant consequences. Offenders only have 30 days from the time of their convictions to enroll. Failure to participate or to enroll is reported to the court. If proof of enrollment within the mandated timeframe cannot be shown, or if an offender hasn’t participated in the prescribed treatment or education regimens, he or she could be held in contempt by the court unless cause can be demonstrated for the offender’s lack of progress or failure to enroll.
South Carolina makes it easy to find and enroll in an ADSAP program, so avoiding penalties for failing to enroll should be simple for most people. Any certified provider in any county in the state may be used. Providers are listed in telephone books and a complete directory of certified programs is available.
It may be possible to continue to drive while completing an ADSAP program. Provisional and restricted licenses could be available under certain circumstances. The DMV determines who may qualify for restricted licenses, but provisional licenses are generally available for first-time offenders who meet the following requirements:
- DMV license fee paid
- No other DUI convictions in the preceding 10 years
- Held a valid driver’s license issued by South Carolina at the time of the offense
- SR22 or other financial responsibility proof provided to DMV
- Non-suspended license
- Successfully enrolled in an ADSAP program
Provisional licenses permit their holders to drive for six months while completing an ADSAP program.